Behind Closed Doors – B. A. PARIS


4,5/5 stars!I would’ve gone with 5 stars but I can’t help but keep comparing it to BCD, which was an emotionally draining read (The main effect I like in crime/psychological thrillers).

The book begins with a delicious cinematic scene where the protagonist Cass drives back to her home through a night of deafening lightning, daunting thunderstorms and a stream of unstoppable pouring rain. At one point, she takes a shortcut where she later on stops when she finds a female driver at the side of the road sitting inside her car, probably broken down. Eventually, considering how the woman doesn’t show any signs of seeking help, Cass decides to continue driving along. The following morning, Cass discovers the news that the woman she recently encountered had been brutally murdered. That’s when Cass’ life unravels and descends into utter chaos due to the decision she had made that night.

In The Breakdown ,Paris creates these spectacularly developed characters with back stories appropriately distributed halfway through the beginning of the book, whose characteristics make all of them possible suspects.

Even though different from Behind Closed Doors, the author can still deliver a set of vivid emotions through an engaging thriller plot. As you leaf through the pages, you can’t help but anticipate what’s going to happen next.

The writing is excellent; it particularly shows where Cass’ thoughts and fears are filled with logic, they’re uninterruptedly engaging and described sharply; which is what drove me to fall in love with and root for Cass.

What I liked least while reading was the part where I figured something out that I wasn’t supposed to until later, noticing that the author was throwing evident clues early on. Although, there was more to it than I could’ve imagined because in the ending Paris thrusts a shocking twist, and the mystery was prolonged, which was what I enjoyed the most. And I think that fans of Coben’s standalone Fool Me Once and S. J. Watson’s Second Life would enjoy diving into this satisfying read.

Having read her second book, I divulge that Paris perfects at something I never encountered through any of the other authors’ writing; and that is the way her female protagonists manage to save themselves, because that’s the part where she’ll make sure that you’ll get your right dose of heart-thumping suspense through a breathtaking ending.

Thank you so much to Netgalley and St. Martin’s Press for an advanced copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

3 thoughts on “Behind Closed Doors – B. A. PARIS

  1. I loved Behind Closed Doors, and I really want to read this one but I’m afraid it won’t be as good. I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

