The Lucky Ones – MARK EDWARDS


*4/5 Stars*
The story is about a serial killer who has a unique way of murdering his victims – the lucky ones. Dead bodies begin to pile up, and DI Imogen is compelled to identify the pattern used by the murderer, that is resulting in corpses with eyes open and smiles engraved on their faces. 

The author takes us on a journey of cat-and-mouse games between the killer and the detective.
I think what I regretted the most after reading this is that I have never been able to bring myself to read Mark Edward’s work before.

The actors in the book are worth reading about. My favorite character is Ben’s, because of how relatable the author made him; he’s drowned in multiple life problems. He lost his job, his home, his wife and he can’t help but feel like a failure. However, he hopes his efforts will make things right again. Though, it doesn’t really turn out as he wishes. Nevertheless, it is only when they do, that other predicaments that are out of the ordinary begin to merge from out of nowhere.
PROS
Mark Edwards throws you into the mind of a serial killer; how he works and how he thinks. His carefully plotted methods. 

The way it ended is what struck me, because it is only when I thought it was all over, a twist happens. It was jaw-dropping. It becomes that kind of just-one-more-page read.
CONS
None.
The Lucky Ones is perfect for fans of Beukes’ The Shining Girls and Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn. 
*Thanks to Netgalley and Thomas & Mercer for kindly offering me an advanced reading copy of the book in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.*

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “The Lucky Ones – MARK EDWARDS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s