Books To Read For Fans Of Gillian Flynn

Looking for thrillers that compare to Gillian Flynn’s creepy, bizarre, disturbing and completely addictive novels? Today’s list features a couple of books that you might want to check out if you love a Gillian-Flynn-like atmosphere in your psychological thrillers. If you have any more suggestions to add to this list, don’t hesitate to share!

1. Grist Mill Road by Christopher J. Yates

This book is absolutely twisted. The writing is very impeccable and compelling, as the story – as it alternates between 1982 and 2008 – explores a wicked father-son relationship, in the most terrifying way.

In 1982: we have a fascinating setting: mountains, glacial ponds, rock cliffs…where three friends—Patrick, Matthew, and Hannah—are bound together by a horrific crime.

In 2008: we’re taken to New York City, where the three friends – living new lives – meet again, but this time, the past comes back to haunt them, and the consequences are deadly.

2. Brother by Ania Ahlborn

“You look like an axe murderer, brother,” he said. “Like a goddamn horror movie, them elevators bleedin’ into the hotel lobby. Why don’t you get yourself cleaned up?”

This is the book that instantly made me go, “am I reading a Gillian Flynn book?” as I was reading the first chapter; it has the same addictive, moody, unsettling atmosphere in her other books – Dark Places and Sharp Objects, especially.

Brother is twisted as heck. There’s a family of killers that abducts and kills, and a boy named Michael who suddenly finds himself wrapped up in the midst of this unspeakable evil. It’s the first chapter that instantly grabbed me and convinced me I’ll be having a hard time putting the book down.

The writing is…superb, and sort of cinematic, with a Gillian-Flynn-like atmosphere, which runs through the course of the entire book, featuring frighteningly captivating family dynamics and the most intense slasher scenes…until the final, action-packed and powerful chapters. The ending as a whole is just…a rollercoaster of realistic terror!! You won’t be able to look away.

That twist ending is so utterly shocking and fascinating and gut-wrenching I gasped! Edge-of-your-seat suspense. And that final paragraph…it still haunts me!

3. Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter

While reading this book, it almost feels as if the more you near the ending, the more you’re convinced that it’s highly inspired by Gillian Flynn’s writing – because it’s at that point that it dares get extremely disturbing, and dark.

We have three girls. One went missing 25 years ago, and now the two surviving sisters must unravel the truth of what had happened because a recent brutally murder – of the husband of one of the sisters – might hold the key to this 25-year-old disappearance.

4. I’m Thinking Of Ending Things by Iain Reid

This gem has a Netflix adaptation releasing in September! I’m not kidding you guys when I say that the atmosphere here is downright creepy: the sun does not shine in this book, ever. It’s nighttime, snowy, stormy, and there’s a sense of dread and unease that accompanies the plot all throughout.

This weird, different and completely unsettling book follows the story of a girl and her boyfriend who are on a road trip to see his parents, and at one point, when they reach their destination, we realize that the parents live in a farm. Yes, fellow readers, remember those bizarre “farm” scenes in Dark Places and Sharp Objects? Well, something extremely similar happens here in I’m Thinking Of Ending Things. Expect to get the chills!

5. I Know Who You Are by Alice Feeney

Think of I Know Who You Are as Gone Girl’s evil twin. Yes, believe or not, the ending of this book is even crazier than Flynn’s debut. A woman comes home and her husband is nowhere to be found. He’s left all of his belongings behind. What’s going on? Why is she a suspect? And who’s her creepy stalker? The ending will leave your jaw on the floor.

See any title that sounds up your alley? Any more books you think should be added to this list? Let me know!

12 thoughts on “Books To Read For Fans Of Gillian Flynn

  1. Great post!! I was looking for a good thriller and some of these sound fantastic. Added a bunch of them to my tbr list. Pretty Girls in particular sounds like a good read

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, friend!! I’d definitely recommend PRETTY GIRLS; it’s my absolute favorite by Slaughter ☺️🙌🏻 and the adaptation of I’m Thinking Is Ending Things is coming to Netflix soon, if you’re looking to read it before it airs 😁👍🏻

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s